Spaghetti Night :)

Come Friday, I get all pumped up and excited!

I am not sure if its the weekend ahead (two days of lazing around) or the fact that will get lots of time with hubby :). So, coming to Fridays I get excited and think about all things nice trying to make something new to eat.

Last Friday it was Spaghetti !! The reason it figures here is; spaghetti has never been an obvious food choice at our home (when we were kids), it was usually something we would go out to eat. Thus, you see making spaghetti and getting it right has always been a goal :p.

I have tried the red sauce and white one, this time I tried a red sauce but (here come the twist in my tale) with wheat spaghetti. I was apprehensive because, wheat usually is dry and how much sauce would be need to balance that was something I did not know. However I went ahead and happy to say it turned out well 🙂

Below I have shared how I made it and a few pics to go along. I would surely like to know of ideas how I can enhance my spaghetti making skills :). Till then have a great weekend !

Put the spaghetti to boil as per the directions on the packing cover. And while it gets cooked prepare the vegetables and the sauce.

Prepare the veggies:

I do not really think there is any rule about what vegetables can be added what can not be. It basically depends on what you like and since I just love having a-lot of vegetables in my food I basically added a little of all that I had. So I added:

  1. tomatoes……….. 2-3 medium (the more red the better)
  2. onions…………… 2-3 medium (chopped into small squares)
  3. capsicum……….. 1 green, 1 red and 1 yellow
  4. carrot……………. 2 medium sized
  5. mushroom……… 5-7 washed properly and and chopped
  6. coriander leaves.. handful
  7.  butter……………. 1 table spoon
  8. chilies
  9. salt
  10. black pepper

Melt the butter, add onions and cook till pale. Add tomatoes, once they breakdown add the veggies capsicums, carrots and mushrooms. Add the chilies and season with salt and pepper.

For the sauce:

  1. garlic cloves…….. 2-4
  2. butter…………….. 1 table spoon
  3. white wine………. 2-3 table spoons
  4. cream cheese…… 1 cup
  5. whipping cream.. 1/2 cup
  6. salt
  7. black pepper

Making sauce:

fry the garlic in butter add the wine. Stir in the cream cheese and cream. Mix together and add the salt and ground black pepper.

IMG_3073

And that’s how my sauce looked 🙂

Putting together:

To the hot sauce, add the prepared veggies mix together. To the mix add the cooked spaghetti stir. If you like cheese, top with a little shredded cheese and serve hot !

IMG_3075

final look 🙂

Leave a Reply

